Aboriginal Meeting Place


The Nyoongar seasonal calendar includes six different seasons in a yearly cycle. These are Birak, Bunuru, Djeran, Makuru, Djilba and Kambarang. Each of the six seasons represents and explains the seasonal changes we see each year in the plants, animals and weather. The Nyoongar seasons can be long or short and are indicated by what is happening and changing around us rather than by dates on a calendar. This six-season calendar is extremely important to Nyoongar people, as it is a guide to what nature is doing at every stage of the year, as well as understanding respect for the land in relation to plant and animal fertility cycles and land and animal preservation.


To reflect these ideas our after school art program has created 6 mosaics which represent the six seasons. We have planted a variety of native plants including bush tucker in the area. This area will enhouse an outdoor chess set and is designed to be a quiet place to reflect and enjoy nature.

The garden was officially opened in Term 4 2017.

Birak, Bunuru, Djeran,

Makuru,Djilba, Kambarang

© 2017 by Nicola Austen

Yangebup Primary School.

Proudly created with Wix.com